President’s Message

I am pleased to announce that Professor San Wook Huh at University at Buffalo has been selected as the president-elect, who will join Professor Yoon K Choi at University of Central Florida, our next president, to serve KAFA beginning this November. Also, please join me to welcome our new executive officers and board members: 

Secretary General:                   Jung C. Park, U of South Florida

Treasurer:                                 H. Young Baek, Nova Southeastern U.

Executive Board member:      Hyuna Park, Brooklyn College – CUNY

Executive Board member:      Ji-woong Chung, Korea University.

Executive Board member:      Jongsub Lee, University of Florida


Thanks to the generous donation from Late Dr. Bong-Soo Lee’s family, 2017 marks the inauguration year for the Dr. Lee Memorial Scholarship. On behalf of KAFA, I would like to extend my sincere thanks once more to Dr. Lee’s family. For the purpose of managing the fund and selecting the first recipient of the scholarship, I appointed the Dr. Lee Memorial Scholarship Committee consisting of Professors Ha-Chin Yi (Chair), Young Baek, Young Sang Kim, and Jung Chul Park. The committee’s enormous time and efforts to launch this scholarship is greatly appreciated.


With the continued financial support from Financial News (FN) and Shinhan Bank (SHB), we continue to recognize KAFA members’ outstanding scholarly achievements through various awards including FN-KAFA Eminent Scholar Award, SHB-KAFA Young Scholar Award, FN-KAFA Top-Journal Paper Award, FN-KAFA Doctoral Student Dissertation Award, and SHB-KAFA Best Paper Award. On behalf of KAFA, I congratulate all award recipients. I would like to thank Professors Jun-Koo Kang at Nanyang Technology University, Saeyoung Chang at UNLV, and Yoon Ki Choi at University of Central Florida for serving with me the KAFA Award Selection Committee.


KAFA continues to offer two Korean and Asian sessions at this year’s FMA meetings. I appreciate Professors Yoon Ki Choi and Joong-Hyuk Kim who organized the two special sessions. The attendance in these sessions by KAFA members is essential for us to continue to keep the special KAFA sessions in the future FMA meetings. Your attendance will be greatly appreciated. The details of the sessions can be found in this newsletter. The annual business and dinner meetings are scheduled on Friday (October 13th) as usual. I thank Korea Institute of Finance (KIF) and Korea Capital Market Institute (KCMI) for sponsoring the KAFA dinner meeting.


This December, selected KAFA members will participate in the annual conference on Asia-Pacific Financial Markets (CAFM) Conference and the joint symposium with the KCMI in Seoul. I appreciate KAFA members’ continued interest and support for these collaborations with Korean partners.


It’s been my honor to serve as the KAFA president.  I now realize all the hard work that our previous presidents have done in the past for KAFA.  I would like to thank Professors Jin-Mo Kim and Ha-Chin Yi for their tireless work as the secretary general and treasurer, respectively. It was a great honor to work with them. Now that Professor Yoon Ki Choi will take over as the new President along with newly elected officers, I know that KAFA will be in good hands. 


I look forward to seeing you all in Boston. 


With Warmest Regards,


Soku Byoun

2017 KAFA President

Baylor University